More by Correspondent

President Uhuru Set to Launch SGR Phase 2

President Uhuru Set to Launch SGR Phase 2

President Uhuru Kenyatta will today preside over the launch of the Phase 2A of the Standard Gauge Railway (SGR), which runs from Nairobi to Mai Mahiu.

The president will also commission the JKIA-Westlands Expressway and Groundbreaking for Naivasha Inland Container Depot (ICD).

According to the Kenya Railways Services, passenger train services from Nairobi to Mai Mahiu will kick off on Thursday.

“We are happy to announce that the Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) Phase 2A will be operational as of October 17, 2019! See you onboard!,” KRS said in a tweet.

Features of SGR Phase 2A – Nairobi-Naivasha

The Nairobi – Naivasha line’s track length is 120.491km. There are four intermediate stations: Ongata Rongai, Ngong, Maai Mahiu and Suswa and also one passing station located at Nachu.

SGR phase 2A will also run on three tunnels with a total length of 7.15km in some sections.

It also has 29 bridges; 6 super-major, 15 major and 8 medium. At 46 metres, Mulua Orkondi in Duka Moja, Narok County, is the tallest of the bridges. 


Naivasha SGR schedule


Related Articles