July 10, 2017


Matiang’i imposes curfew on Lamu after Al-Shabaab activity. Terrorist militants killed 9 villagers in Lamu County.

More by Correspondent

Matiang’i imposes curfew on Lamu after Al-Shabaab activity

Matiang’i imposes curfew on Lamu after Al-Shabaab activity

Acting interior CS Fred Matiang’i on Saturday imposed a three-month dusk to dawn curfew in Lamu and Tana River and Garissa counties in an effort to control the increased attacks by Al Shabaab.

Matiang’i said in a Gazette notice, the order shall be effected from July 9 to October 9, 2017.

“This order shall apply during the hours of darkness between the period of 6.30pm in the evening and 6.30am in the morning,” Matiang’i said.

Holugho Border Point, Galmagala, Sangailu, Masalani, Bodehei, Milimani, Baure, Basuba, Mangai and Maralani are among the areas where the curfew will apply.

Other areas include Ijara, Hola, Garsen, Kipini, Kiunga and Ishakani/ Dar-es-Salaam Border Point. The curfew, however, excludes the Islands of Lamu, Manda and Pate.

Al-Shabaab Slaughters Nine Villagers in Lamu

The curfew came in the wake of the death of nine men who were beheaded by the militia in an attack in Jima village, Lamu County.

The Al shabaab had also earlier on killed four police officers in Pandaguo area.

President Uhuru on Saturday appointed education CS Fred Matiang’i as acting CS in the interior docket, following the sudden death Of Joseph Nkaissery.


Related Articles