More by Correspondent


Kirinyaga governor Anne Waiguru has become the first female to serve in the leadership of the Council of Governors (COG) following her election as deputy chairperson COG on Friday.

Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya, who is the outgoing vice chair of the Council of Governors, was elected as the new chair of COG and will succeed Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok in six months at the end of his one-year term.

Governor Mvurya, who defected from the opposition and was re-elected with an overwhelming majority in the August general elections, has served as deputy chairman of the CoG for two terms.

In the event that she succeeds Mvurya after his term, which is very likely, Waiguru will also become the first female chairperson of the Council of Governors.

Waiguru is among the three women governors; namely Charity Ngilu (Kitui) and Joyce Laboso (Bomet) who made history by becoming the first female governors to be elected since the promulgation of the 2010 constitution, which ushered in devolution.


NARC leader Martha Karua, has moved to the Court of Appeal to challenge High Court’s decision to dismiss her petition against the election of Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru.

In her appeal, Karua argues that the ruling by Justice Lucy Gitari was biased and applied double standards.

The former Justice and Constitutional minister through her lawyer Mr Gitobu Imanyara, also argues that the Sh10 million the judge also ordered her to meet as the cost of the suit for the four respondents in her petition is punitive since the case had not proceeded to hearing.

Justice Lucy Gitari last month dismissed Narc leader Martha Karua’s petition challenging the election of Kirinyaga governor, Anne Waiguru, on grounds that she had failed to comply with provisions of the Elections Act 2017 terming the case as “hopeless, defective and incurable”.


Related Articles