More by Correspondent


The Independent Electrol and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) selection panel has shortlisted 36 candidates for the positions of members of the commission.

The shortlisted candidates were part of 760 applicants who had applied to be part of the requisite six IEBC commissioners following the exit of the previous members.

Interviews will kick off on Thursday next week and close on December 15 and the nominated candidates will be required to appear before a committee of the National Assembly for vetting.

Successful candidates will serve on a full term basis for a single term lasting six years and shall not be eligible for reappointment.

The IEBC selection panel, which comprises of nine members picked from religious organizations and the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC), also shortlisted five candidates out of 13 applications for the post of IEBC chairman. Read more…

The five include; Devolution expert Dr Mutakha Kangu, Roseline Odhiambo-Odede who was a member of the now defunct Judges and Magistrates Vetting Board (JMVB) and former Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commissioner (TJRC) Margaret Wambui Ngugi Shava, advocates David Kiprop Malakwen and David Mukii Mereka. They will be interviewed on November 28 and 29 at County Hall.


Related Articles