More by Correspondent


President Uhuru Kenyatta yesterday appointed a nine-member selection panel that will be tasked with recruiting new commissioners for the Independence Electoral Independence Commission (IEBC).

The nine who were picked from the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC), the clergy, the Muslim and Hindu religions include;  lawyer Evans Monari, Mary Karen Kigen, Rtd Justice Tom Mbaluto, Ogla Chepkemoi Karani, Benerdatte Musundi, Peter Karanja Mwangi, Abdulghafur HS El-Busaidy, Bishop David Oginde and Rajesh Rawal.

The selection panel shall, within seven days of its appointment, invite applications from qualified persons and publish the names of all applicants and their qualifications.

Uhuru also urged qualified Kenyans to apply for the positions of chairperson of the IEBC and commissioners once the positions are advertised. The new IEBC commissioners will be appointed in line with the IEBC Act.

IEBC commissioners issue resignation letters to Uhuru

Last week the previous commissioners finally issued president Uhuru their resignation letters, following an agreement on their exit package. They, however, asked to be allowed to remain in office until a new team is effectively recruited to avoid any power vacuum within the Commission.


Related Articles