The Kenya Forum | Trump's travel ban on Muslim states takes effect - The Kenya Forum

June 30, 2017


Trump’s travel ban on Muslim states takes effect. Citizens from predominantly Islamic countries will not be able to travel to the US.

More by Correspondent

Trump’s travel ban on Muslim states takes effect

Trump’s travel ban on Muslim states takes effect

Citizens and refugees from six countries that are largely Muslims will not be allowed entry into the US for 90 days after the county’s Supreme Court decision allowed it to go forward.

The affected countries are Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Unlike ordinary travellers who are getting a 90-day ban, refugees will be treated to a 120-day ban. No visas will be issued for 90 days to migrants or visitors from the seven countries.

Human rights group had been contesting the temporary ban, which the Trump administration says is aimed at blocking terrorists from gaining entry into the US, for the last five months.

In February this year, a US federal judge on Friday ordered a temporary, nationwide halt to Trump’s immigration ban on travellers from the seven Muslim-majority countries.

Kenyans and Somalis deported

Since Trump was sworn in as the president of the United States, at least 100 Somalis and seven Kenyans have been deported.

In January this year, two Kenyan and 90 Somali deportees were deported while in May Five more Kenyans and 67 Somali nationals landed at the Jomo Kenyatta international airport after being deported from the U.S.


Related Articles