richEight men own the same wealth as the 3.6 billion people who make up the poorest half of humanity, according to a new report published by Oxfam on 16th January. The report shows that the gap between the rich and the poor is far bigger than it was feared.

The world’s 8 richest people are, in order of net worth:

  1. Bill Gates: America founder of Microsoft (net worth $75 billion)
  2. Amancio Ortega: Spanish founder of Inditex which owns the Zara fashion chain (net worth $67 billion)
  3. Warren Buffett: American CEO and largest shareholder in Berkshire Hathaway (net worth $60.8 billion)
  4. Carlos Slim Helu: Mexican owner of Grupo Carso (net worth: $50 billion)
  5. Jeff Bezos: American founder, chairman and chief executive of Amazon (net worth: $45.2 billion)
  6. Mark Zuckerberg: American chairman, chief executive officer, and co-founder of Facebook (net worth $44.6 billion)
  7. Larry Ellison: American co-founder and CEO of Oracle  (net worth $43.6 billion)
  8. Michael Bloomberg: American founder, owner and CEO of Bloomberg LP (net worth: $40 billion)

Posted in Latest news0 Comments


Archbishop Eliud Wabukala sworn in as EACC boss

Archbishop Eliud Wabukala sworn in as EACC boss

Former Anglican Church of Kenya (ACK) Archbishop Eliud Wabukala was yesterday sworn in as the new chairman of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC).

Wabukala called for an end to greed, terming it as the root cause of the runaway corruption in the country.

Be thankful for what you have and don’t desire for what you don’t have,” he said.

He also asked all leaders to be accountable and honest in their service to the people of Kenya. Parliament unanimously approved the ACK’s leader nomination by President Uhuru Kenyatta saying he was up to the task.

Gem MP Jakoyo Midiwo, however, argues that fighting corruption in the country is not just about Wabukala’s ability but a complete overhaul of the EACC secretariat.

“We will never fight corruption unless we dissolve the secretariat of the EACC. That is where the problem is,” he said. “We cannot tell Wabukala to go and pray. We must help him.”

Wabukala takes over from Philip Kinisu who resigned due to a conflict of interest after a company associated with him was linked to the NYS scandal. Kinisu became the shortest serving chairman of the graft body, which has proved to be a toothless bulldog in its mandate.


Posted in Latest news0 Comments


image courtesy

image courtesy

President Uhuru Kenyatta has outlawed the export of maize until the drought, which is being described as the worst to hit the country since 2011, comes to an end.

Uhuru, who was speaking at a rally in Isiolo town, also ordered the arrest of unscrupulous businessmen who are hoarding maize in anticipation of a hike in prices.

“Action would be taken against traders found hoarding maize. You cannot take advantage of the needy to make profits,” he warned.

He said that his government was doing everything possible to ensure that the food crisis is addressed, adding that they were preparing a supplementary budget to address the food shortage.

At least two million Kenyans are at the risk of being affected by hunger due to falling short rains in 2016. The drought started in February last year with North and South Pokot counties being the worst hit but has since spread to 11 more counties according to the latest report by the government.

The government is already distributing food relief to 1.5 million Kenyans who are facing starvation. The Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development has already been allocated Sh230 million to effect the livestock uptake programme meant to support pastoralists and dairy farmers in the affected areas as the livestock sector is the hardest hit.

Water rationing as Ndakaini water levels drop

Nairobians have also been forced to contend with water rationing following the drop of water levels in Ndakaini Dam in Murang’a County, which dropped to a record lowest since the year 2009 dropping from 70million m3 to 29 million m3, representing a drop of 41.5%.

“The city consumes about 550,000 cubic meters daily but will onwards get about 462,000 cubic meters. The changes will help the company ration water and carry out reviews every two weeks,” said Nairobi water company managing director Philip Gichuki.

The rationing is expected to carry on till April when the long rains are expected.

Posted in Latest news0 Comments



Univeristy staff on strike

Univeristy staff on strike

The government has been hit by another industrial crisis following a strike by teaching and non-teaching staff in public universities.

University Academic Staff Union (UASU), Kenya University Staff Union (KUSU) and the Kenya union of domestic, hotels, educational institutions, hospitals and allied workers (KUDHEHIA), who had given the government a one-week notice to address their grievances, have officially kicked of a countrywide strike, paralyzing learning in public universities.

The lecturers are demanding for the implementation of a CBA for 2013-2017 adding that no threats of arrest will intimidate them to back down. This is after an industrial court issued an order barring them from going on strike until a case regarding the issue is mentioned on February 1, 2017.

“The only arrest we fear is cardiac arrest,” said UASU Secretary General Constantine Wasonga.

KUDHEHIA Secretary-General Albert Njeru said the unions have run out of patience, adding that the government has refused to raise their salaries since 2010.

UASU Chairperson Dr. Richard Bosire said lecturers risk being shortchanged should the government fail to sign and implement the CBA by the end of the current financial year.

Among the issues, the Dons want to be addressed is a review of the salary structure to weed out disparities.

The striking Dons now join the doctors who downed their tools in December, paralyzing operations in government hospitals. The doctors have also defied a court order to call off their strike maintaining they will only do so after the government honours the 2013 CBA.

Posted in Latest news0 Comments


Onyango Oloo

Onyango Oloo

The National Alliance party secretary-general Onyango Oloo has ditched President Uhuru Kenyatta’s party to join ODM.

Oloo, who says his move has been occasioned by failure by Jubilee to honour its promises, was a top TNA strongman since the party was launched in 2012 but has been apparently sidelined in the new Jubilee party launched by Mr Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto in September last year.

He also lost the chairmanship of the Lake Basin Development Authority to Raphael Tuju after his contract failed to be renewed last year.

Oloo also says that the new jubilee party (JAP) is a “vile and vicious political conmanship”.

“It’s truly so unfortunate that it has come to this end, the natiobal alliance was a party that was truly national and founded on sound ideologies that we believed would take Kenyans to the next agenda. Unfortunately we were later told that TNA wasn’t truly national and we have to merge with other 12 political parties to create a national outfit,” Oloo said.

“I agreed to go with the president’s decision but little did i know that together with the other 11 parties, that we were being led to a very vile and vicious political conmanship,” Oloo added.

Oloo will allegedly lead over 100 ex-Jubilee officials in ditching Jubilee party for ODM.

“I have 28 counties behind me who are ready to join me and they will be joining me one by one in the coming weeks,” he said.

Oloo is expected to meet CORD leader Raila Odinga today in Siaya.

We are coming home” Oloo said.


Posted in Politics0 Comments

Obama Farewell Speech



January 2017
« Dec    

Get the latest news straight to your email for free!

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook